Bare Island night dive (#279, 7.9 m, 43′, 15° C)

Last Tuesday was time for my first Bare Island night dive (will try to repeat that experience tonight…). The conditions had been rough for days, and the one option to dive at Bare Island was the west side. We started from the boat ramp on the island itself. The visibility was only 3-4m, but good enough for a pleasant dive. We crossed the sandy bottom to the west and followed the reef further, eventually turning south around a corner and then south-east. Despite the low visibility I had a terrific dive. I spotted my first striped pyjama squid, took a picture of what I was told later were mysids (mysidacea), had a Port Jackson shark almost swimming into me because it was so excited about the modelling light on my strobe… Ok, I let the pictures do the talking now 🙂
Not shySurrounded by a thousand eyes

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

